The answer to this question varies by state.
In most states, CBD is legal to buy and use for anyone over the age of 18. However, some laws, such as Hawaii, have more stringent rules.
How Old Do You Have to Be?
There are no federal age restrictions for buying CBD. But in some states, including New York and Connecticut, the law states that you have to be 21 years old to buy CBD.
The Farm Bill did away with hemp products that have more than 0.3 percent THC, but it still has some restrictions on what you can do with hemp. Colorado, for example, requires hemp to contain less than 0.3% THC.
You can take CBD orally, through tinctures, capsules, gummies and vapor oils. You can also apply it to your skin with creams, balms, salves and oils.
Topical CBD works well for localized pain or inflammation. It's typically more effective than vaping or smoking because it goes directly to your bloodstream.
It's not advised to take it by mouth if you have a history of heart problems, diabetes or high blood pressure.
For those who have a history of mental illness or are taking medication for these issues, it's recommended to talk to your doctor before trying CBD.
There's no official DEA guideline on age requirements to buy or use CBD, but you should always consult your health care provider before using it. You should also be aware that there are some interactions between certain medications and CBD, so you should speak to your doctor about these potential risks.