September 12, 2023

Are Chips and Salsa Vegan?

The majority of chips and salsa are vegan friendly. Most tortilla chips are made from flour, salt, water and oil which are all plant-based ingredients. Salsa is also a generally vegan dish as it consists of mostly tomatoes, chile peppers and other vegetables. Having said that, it is always a good idea to read the label of any dip that you are considering buying or serving and make sure there is no dairy or other animal products in it.

Besides dairy products, you should look out for any food dyes that are not cruelty-free. Many food colorings, such as the yellow dye tartrazine and red dye erythrosine are tested on animals before they can be used in foods. It is also a good idea to stay away from any dip that mentions cheese as this may contain milk or other dairy ingredients like buttermilk.

There are plenty of healthy alternatives to regular tortilla chips such as Siete’s grain free tortilla chips and chips from Rhythm Superfoods that are made with lentils instead of corn flour. These chips are not only vegan friendly but also gluten free and low in calories.

Another great choice is Tostito’s Salsa Verde that is not only vegan friendly but also gluten free and has no artificial flavors or preservatives. In addition, Tostito’s salsa contains mainly plants such as onions, garlic, jalapenos and cilantro which are all vegan friendly. So if you are looking for the perfect dip to accompany your tortilla chips or nachos, then Tostito’s Salsa Verde is definitely worth checking out.


Welcome to the blog all about your mental, physical and last but not least, your spiritual health, and well-being.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram